

March 18, 2019

Senator Rob Portman 448 Russell Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510 Senator Maria Cantwell 511 Hart Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510

Dear Senator Portman and Senator Cantwell:

The undersigned members of the Consortium for Citizens with Disabilities (CCD) Long-Term Services & Supports (LTSS) Task Force write to express our strong support for S. 548 to reauthorize the Money Follows the Person (MFP) Medicaid demonstration program for five more years. Reauthorizing MFP for a significant period of time is the top priority of the disability and aging communities.

CCD is the largest coalition of national organizations working together to advocate for federal public policy that ensures the self-determination, independence, empowerment, integration and inclusion of children and adults with disabilities in all aspects of society.

While Congress has made great bipartisan strides in ensuring persons with disabilities can be integrated into their communities, systematic biases still exist that favor more costly institutional care over home and community-based services (HCBS). MFP follows in that proud history of passing bipartisan legislation to ensure that individuals with disabilities can live in the setting of their choice.

First authorized in the Deficit Reduction Act of 2005, with strong bipartisan support and signed into law by President George W. Bush, the MFP has helped more than 88,000 older adults (CMS, 2018) and people with disabilities – nearly one-third of them older adults -- transition out of nursing homes and other institutional settings back to living in their communities.

MFP has also enabled at least 43 states and the District of Columbia to develop the needed infrastructure to enhance people's access to home and community-based services (HCBS), while helping states shift more of their resources to HCBS and reduce expenditures on more expensive institutional services.

We thank you both for your longstanding and vocal commitment to promoting community living for both people with disabilities and older adults. We look forward to working with you to pass this incredibly important legislation.

Sincerely,

Allies for Independence American Association of People with Disabilities American Association on Health and Disability American Association on Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities

> 820 FIRST STREET NE, SUITE 740 • WASHINGTON, DC 20002-4243 TEL: 202.567.3516 • FAX: 202.408.9520 WEBSITE: WWW.C-C-D.ORG • E-MAIL: INFO@C-C-D.ORG

American Civil Liberties Union American Dancy Therapy Association American Network of Community Options and Resources (ANCOR) American Physical Therapy Association American Psychological Association American Therapeutic Recreation Association Arc of the United States Association of People Supporting Employment First (APSE) Association of University Centers on Disabilities (AUCD) Autism Society of America Autism Speaks Autistic Self Advocacy Network **Bazelon Center for Mental Health Law** Brain Injury Association of America **Center for Public Representation** Christopher & Dana Reeve Foundation Disability Rights Education and Defense Fund (DREDF) Easterseals **Epilepsy Foundation Family Voices** The Jewish Federations of North America Justice in Aging Lutheran Services in America Disability Network National Academy of Elder Law Attorneys National Association of Councils on Developmental Disabilities National Association of State Directors of Developmental Disabilities Services National Association of State Head Injury Administrators National Association of States United for Aging and Disabilities (NASUAD) National Committee to Preserve Social Security and Medicare National Council on Aging National Council on Independent Living National Disability Rights Network National Down Syndrome Congress National Health Law Program National Multiple Sclerosis Society National Respite Coalition Paralyzed Veterans of America Special Needs Alliance TASH, Inc. **United Spinal Association**

Cc: Finance Committee Chair Charles Grassley Finance Committee Ranking Member Ron Wyden Majority Leader Mitch McConnell Minority Leader Chuck Schumer