

## CCD Rights Task Force: Policies for CoChairs and Sign-On Documents

## \*The 2018 Rights TF CoChairs are Heather Ansley, Dara Baldwin, Samantha Crane, Jennifer Mathis, and Mark Richert

It is the policy of the Rights Task Force to express its policy positions through the use of sign-ons for letters, comments, statements for the record, and testimony when possible, feasible and desirable. Sign-on letters demonstrate the breadth of support the position has within the Task Force and within the disability community so they are the preferred method of communicating the Task Force positions to the public.

There are, however a variety of circumstances that require the issuance of policy positions through documents to which only the Rights TF CoChairs is a signatory.

The Rights TF will issue Cochairs documents when the following is applicable:

- □ There is a short turnaround time and completing a sign on process is not feasible (e.g. requests from the Hill);
- There is an established Task Force position on the issue or CoChairs are certain that there is majority support for the position the Chairs will be taking in the letter or statement; or
- □ The Rights TF discusses the issue at a regular Task Force meeting or through email and determines that a CoChairs letter is the appropriate document.

The Rights TF CoChairs will make every effort to discuss the issuance of any possible CoChairs letters at the regularly scheduled monthly Task Force meetings.

If such discussion is not possible, the CoChairs will inform the Task Force membership of the CoChairs letter via email or through a specially called meeting/phone call, at the discretion of the CoChairs. Every effort will be made to provide the TF members an opportunity to review the CoChairs letter prior to its release to the public.

## Adopted by Task Force: March 20, 2018